Lucio's Rambles

I Made a Game Mechanic Wiki

Passover is looming over the horizon, which means two things - one, I have to get used to eating unflavored crackers again, and two, I have a two-week break from school!

Despite my teachers' best attempts, (such as our demonic C# professor giving 11 hours of recorded material to watch before the end of the break,) I am very glad to finally have some sort of calm-down period from school. I get to have a few days to just calm down, breathe, and organize my own schedule. I figured that to maximize my calmness, I should probably start the vacation by finishing my homework assignments early. That way I could breathe easy at the end of pesach and not have to worry about a single project's due date. So, obviously, I didn't do any of that and started looking at my abandoned projects.

I remembered that a while back I opened a neocities page which I didn't really finish working on. "I'll make myself a little page and then start working on my homework," I lied to myself. I opened a text editor, cracked my knuckles, and started thinking what I should make a website about. I'm not a very artistic person so I could probably get a way with very minimalistic CSS, but I do like to write so I'd probably be making a lot of pages. Before deciding what my website should be about, I decided to look into static website generators to ease my future work on the site. Again, to remind you - I was doing this while I had 11 hours of C# to watch.

I discovered Jekyll through Github Pages, and it seemed pretty neat. I decided to read up about it, set it up, fuck it up, fix it, realize I misunderstood how the formatting works, delete the entire thing, and then start over fresh. I banged a dingy little CSS theme with atrocious (but accessibility-compliant!) fonts and colors, and decided this should be a good base of operations. "I often think a lot about game design, so I should probably write about that. But how? Just a game design blog? I have that already," I thought to myself. And I had an epiphany.

A wiki!

So I started a game design wiki. It assumes zero preemptive knowledge on the side of the reader and explains everything, including what a deck of cards is. Right now most of the links are dead (because I hope to fill them in later), but there's quite a bit to read about already!

I have several homework assignments due by the end of the week.

#game design #internet #personal life